Project Areas

Electricity Transmission Project

The transmission line will pass through 30 municipalities in 10 districts. While final alignment studies are still underway, recent studies suggest that the transmission line will be approximately 315 kms long and have 856 towers built. The transmission line will pass through the following districts: Kathmandu, Sindhupalchowk, Nuwakot, Dhading, Makwanpur, Chitwan, Tanahun, Palpa, Nawalpur, Parasi. By design, the transmission like will avoid dense settlement areas, historic forests, cultural monuments, and environmentally pristine areas. It has also been designed to avoid aviation and bird-migration routes, and the wires will be spaced wide apart to allow the avian species with wide wing-spans to fly through them. The project will build three substations at Ratmate, Nuwakot; New Damauli, Tanahu; and New Butwal, Rupandehi

Road Maintenance Project

MCA-Nepal has selected the road section to be worked upon while implementing the MCC grant in consultation with the Department of Roads. This will include the Dhankhola-Lamahi (approx. 40 km) section of the East-West Highway as a pilot. Successful implementation of the pilot project will be followed up with use of the same technology along the Lamahi- Shivakhola (37 km) section of the Highway. The road sections will pass through Arghakhanchi and Dang districts.