Board of Directors

MCA-Nepal is governed by an Executive Board, chaired by the Secretary of the Ministry of Finance. The Joint Secretary of Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport; Joint Secretary of Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation; and Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority are other members of the Board. Similarly, there are two representatives one from the private sector and another from civil society in the Board. The Executive Director of MCA-Nepal is the Member Secretary.

Mr. Sishir Kumar Dhungana, Chairman

Mr. Sishir Kumar Dhungana is the Secretary of the Ministry of Finance. He was previously Secretary (Revenue) at the Ministry of Finance. Mr. Dhungana is a career civil servant and has served the government in different capacities. Before appointment as the Secretary (Revenue), he worked at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers. Prior to these appointments, he also served as the Director General of the Department of Customs. Mr. Dhungana has a postgraduate degree from Nepal Commerce Campus, Kathmandu.

Mr. Madhu Prasad Bhetuwal, Member

Mr. Bhetuwal is a Joint Secretary at the Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation and was the Director General (DG) at the Department of Electricity Development (DoED) in 2018, when he was assigned to the Ministry. Mr. Bhetuwal began government service at the District Development Committee, Gulmi, where he gained significant experience in Hydroelectric engineering. He has worked in various capacities from implementation to the policy making levels during a tenure that spans across two and a half decades. Mr. Bhetuwal had contributed towards making licensing of hydroelectricity projects more transparent and competitive at the DoED. He has also served as a joint-secretary at the Investment Board Nepal (IBN).

Mr. Keshab Kumar Sharma, Member

Mr. Keshab Kumar Sharma is a Joint Secretary at Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport (MoPIT) in the Foreign Cooperation Division. Mr. Sharma previously served as the Director General at Department of Roads (DoR). He has extensive experience in the road sector specifically in feasibility study, detailed study, design, survey and road construction. He has been involved in the preparation of a 20-year Roads Master Plan and Periodic Plans in the transport sector of Nepal. He was awarded Suprasiddha Janasewa Padak in 2018. He holds a Master’s degree in Engineering from Pokhara University.

Mr. Hitendra Dev Shakya, Member

Mr. Hitendra Dev Shakya is the Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA). Previously he served as the Managing Director of NEA Engineering Company, a subsidiary of the authority. He was also involved in the Office of the Millennium Challenge Nepal (OMCN) as a Power Sector Specialist from July 2015 to January 2017. He has years of experience as an Electrical Engineer serving different departments in varied capacities in NEA. He holds a Master’s degree in Electrical Power Engineering from Kathmandu University, Dhulikhel, Nepal.

Mr. Kumar Pandey, Member (Representing Private Sector)


Mr. Kumar Pandey is the Executive Chairman of the National Hydropower Company and an independent consultant for hydropower developers, banks, NGOs and INGOs. He is the immediate past Vice President of Nepal’s Independent Power Producers’ Association (IPPAN). He has written many articles on Nepal’s overall social development and energy sector. Mr. Pandey holds a B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering from Brown University and an M.B.A. from the Lally School of Management at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in New York.

Mr. Gopal Khanal, Member (Representing Civil Society)

Mr. Gopal Khanal is a PhD Scholar in Political Science. He has worked as Senior Foreign Affairs Expert to Right Hon. Prime Minister K.P. Sharma Oli and as Editor in Chief of, Nepal’s first web portal dedicated to foreign affairs reporting. He has worked as Chief Reporter and Assistant Editor at Kantipur National Daily, including a term as Delhi Bureau Chief for the company. He has reported geopolitics, economic strategies, security and borders.

Mr. Khadga Bahadur Bisht, Member Secretary

Mr. Khadga Bahadur Bisht is the Executive Director of MCA-Nepal. Mr. Bisht joined MCA-Nepal in February 2019. Prior to MCA-Nepal, Mr. Bisht worked for nearly 20 years in hydropower development including leading most recently Himal Power Limited, a Norwegian-Nepal joint invested company. He brings more than 30 years of experience in the development sector in Asia, focused on energy development. Early in his career, he worked as a transmission line project engineer for Nepal’s national utility, the Nepal Electricity Authority. He holds an Executive Master of Business Administration from Pokhara University in Nepal, a Master of Engineering from the Asian Institute of Technology in Bangkok, Thailand, and a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from the National Institute of Technology in West Bengal, India.